Differences between Metro Manila, Greater Manila and Mega Manila

Metropolitan Manila (Filipino: Kalakhang Maynila, Kamaynilaan) or the National Capital Region (NCR) (Filipino: Pambansang Punong Rehiyon) is the metropolitan region encompassing the City of Manila and its surrounding areas in the Philippines. It is composed of 16 cities—namely Manila itself, Caloocan, Las Piñas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Pasay, Pasig, Parañaque, Quezon City, San Juan, Taguig, Valenzuela—and the municipality of Pateros.

Greater Manila generally refers to the contiguous urbanization surrounding Metro Manila. Greater Manila spills into the neighboring provinces of Laguna, Cavite, Rizal, Bulacan, Pampanga and Batangas. Greater Manila hugs Laguna de Bay, the largest lake in Luzon. Mega Manila corresponds to Greater Manila, but it is a specifically defined term but neither of its two definitions, the looser nor the stricter one, offer any sub-provincial granularity. This is important because not all the cities and towns of the above mentioned provinces are urbanized, there are stark development contrasts ranging from dense suburban to rural areas within a province, and some urban zones (notably Angeles and San Fernando of Pampanga) are independent cities that are not yet absorbed by Manila's belt of urbanization. There is no official sub-provincial based definition for Greater Manila.

Mega Manila is the term used for the regions of Central Luzon, CALABARZON, MIMAROPA and Metro Manila. It is frequently used in the press, advertising, television and radio. The significance is that the National Capital Region aka Metro Manila does not bound the urban/suburban sprawl of Manila. In addition, some suburbs outside of Metro Manila have densities exceeding cities inside Metro Manila. The concept of Mega Manila, also somewhat corresponds to Greater Manila, was originally an attempt by the former Governor of Metro Manila Imelda Marcos, which she wanted to expand Metro Manila into the Philippine Sea with Quezon as its final jurisdiction.

Kingdom of Maynila
The Kingdom of Seludong (Saludung), or Maynila, which after colonization became Manila, capital of the Philippines, was one of three major city-states that dominated the area around the upper portion of the Pasig River before the arrival of Spanish colonizers in the 16th century.

Manila in Other Countries
* Manilla, Paraguay, a city in Paraguay

United States
* Manila, Clarke County, Alabama
* Manila, Dallas County, Alabama
* Manila, Arizona
* Manila, Arkansas
* Manila, California
* Manila, Colorado
* Manila, Kentucky
* Manila, Missouri
* Manila, Tennessee
* Manila, Utah
* Manila, West Virginia

Mga Komento

Mag-post ng isang Komento

Mga sikat na post sa blog na ito

Mga Halimbawa ng Bulong